Fans Mob Drogba As He Carries Olympics Torch ,Drogba Leaving Chelsea.

Published May 23, 2012 by luchidotcom

Thousands of fans mobbed the relay route when Chelsea star Didier Drogba took the torch.

Many fans, some wearing Chelsea blue jerseys, cheered as their soccer (football) hero ran through the center of Swindon on Wednesday. The 34-year-old Ivory Coast striker waved as he trotted along with the torch.

Drogba announced on Tuesday that he was quitting Chelsea, just days after scoring the winning penalty shot in the club’s dramatic Champion’s League final win over Bayern Munich. He is pursuing a career elsewhere.

“I think winning the game was the key. Not me scoring the penalty,” he told the BBC. “Winning the game was the turning point. That’s why I have decided to say goodbye.”

The British media have reported that Drogba’s next move will take him to China, but he hasn’t confirmed that.

“I hope everyone will understand,” Drogba said. “Everything I did was for the fans, and I hope they understand.”

The relay finishes at the Olympic Stadium in London on July 27.

Leave a comment